It’s not easy being green

8 Mar

Last night, Todd and I watched the documentary “No Impact Man.” Basically it made me feel like I’m not doing enough to be “green.”

I use 98% biodegradable shampoo (not only when I’m camping, but also for daily use).
I use the Method cleaning products from Target.
I reuse shopping bags.
We recycle most glass/plastic/paper items.

But I still use a lot of paper products for cleaning, like paper towels. And we produce a good amount of garbage. We leave electronics and chargers plugged in all the time. We drive cars. And I feel like there’s so much more we could change.

This past week, I had a state car for the use of commuting to some county offices, and I was lucky enough to snag a Nissan Leaf. (Note: I am in no way affiliated with or being paid by Nissan.) This car was … awesome. To say the least. I had to plug it in a couple of times to recharge it since it only gets about 100 miles (max) if you’re not using the A/C or stereo or things like that. It would be wonderful for shorter trips around town and things of that sort and would make so much less impact than a gasoline car. And because it doesn’t have a traditional motor, it’s got a lot of space inside, despite being compact. And of course it was tons of fun to drive. That little car has some ZIP! I would definitely consider getting an all-electric car, and it might be something that I think about more seriously in the future.

But what about right now? What do you do that is “green?” Do you make your own cleaning products? I want to do so much more but I think I need to start in smaller steps, implement things over time, like I have been with my shampoo and other cleaning products and toiletries.

4 Responses to “It’s not easy being green”

    • paigetopus March 8, 2013 at 2:19 pm #

      white vinegar… to clean the toilet. why haven’t I thought of that before? definitely never buying toilet cleaner again! thanks 😀

      • Stephanie March 8, 2013 at 5:07 pm #

        white vinegar is my hero, there’s nothing it can’t do. lol

  1. lazylauramaisey March 9, 2013 at 1:46 am #

    Omygoodness, I had the same thing about ten days ago. I got myself two books which give you hints of little things to do every day. Most are environmental, some are other stuff, like helping people in specific positions eg AIDS. This is my latest post but since last Thursday I’ve been doing it so there are tips on previous days too. http://lazylauramaisey.wordpress.com/2013/03/09/armchair-activism/

Leave a Reply

