DIY Body Scrub: Half of a Verdict

26 Feb

Good day, all. Yesterday I talked about DIY body scrub and how it’s all the rage now (is that saying still all the rage too? I can never keep up). So I decided to whip up a batch for myself.

Ingredients:

– oil (from what I read, most kinds will work: baby, olive, veggie, coconut; I used olive)
– granulated sugar or salt (I used sugar since I have sensitive skin; if you’re skin is extra sensitive, try brown sugar)
– essential oil (optional; I used peppermint!)

Directions:

Mix one part oil to two parts salt or sugar. Add a few drops of whichever oil you prefer. Because I used olive oil in mine, it looks yellowy green, like olive oil… mixed in sugar … ah, yeah. I know, obvious. But it smells like peppermint! Which is divine, and soothing. I like soothing.

This morning, after my usual shower routine, I scrubbed some of the concoction on my legs and ankles, where I’m usually the driest, then rinsed. Ladies, make sure you do this either before shaving your legs, or at least 24 hours after, since the mixture is meant to be slightly abrasive (hence the term scrub). If you don’t mind being a little grizzly (I don’t, it’s wintertime! My gams are hidden under tall socks and stockings!), go for the no-shave option.

After I stepped out of the shower, I patted my legs dry… and felt oily. I hear you, you’re saying, “duh?” I know. I rub oil on my legs, I should expect to feel oily. And since I hadn’t shaved my legs, I felt oily and stubbly. My legs felt softer though, and I think after a few more days of using the scrub, I’ll see better results. And next time I think I might use baby oil or coconut oil instead, so I don’t feel like I’m getting ready to turn myself into a stew.

2 Responses to “DIY Body Scrub: Half of a Verdict”

  1. Ranoodle February 26, 2013 at 9:18 am #

    I’ve only done this once, but I did coconut oil with sugar and it smelt awesome – like a coconut cupcake! However, I haven’t made it since because I hated that oily feeling you referenced. I couldn’t get past it! I can’t wait to hear if it gets better or if you find a way to minimize it!

    • paigetopus February 26, 2013 at 9:23 am #

      weird, I replied and it didnt’ post.
      in any case! I’m wearing tights today so I’m hoping it has that effect where it makes your skin feel really silky after being contained all day. I’ll have to try other recipes and report back!
      and smelling like a coconut cupcake sounds delightful! 🙂

Leave a Reply

