Banana Pancakes for Brinner

20 Feb

Hi all. This post is going to be a short one since I haven’t been feeling great lately. I’m not sure if I should attribute it to just having a sensitive stomach or to accidentally being glutened. In any case, eating has been difficult for the past 24 hours. So last night for dinner I thought I’d make something that was easy to handle. Cue two-ingredient banana pancakes.

I’m not a big fan of pancakes, but I do love breakfast food. I especially love brinner (Scrubs? Anyone?). I’ll eat pancakes once in a blue moon but these seemed a little less heavy than normal flapjacks so I thought I’d give them a try. You can find the original recipe here.

Ingredients:

– one old, mushy banana, mashed (I freeze bananas that have gone too ripe for my liking, so either set out your frozen banana to thaw about half an hour prior, or just nuke it for about a minute on medium)
– two eggs, beaten
– sprinkle of nutmeg (optional)
– 1/4 tsp cinnamon (optional)

Mash your banana then add the beaten eggs and spices. Whisk until everything looks really nasty and runny but smells delicious. I thought mine were a little too runny so I added about a teaspoon of cornstarch to thicken it up a bit. I fried them over medium heat with a little olive oil for about a minute on each side. Cook until they’re toasty brown on both sides. Enjoy with syrup and/or berries or whatever floats your goat 🙂

I tried to make the pancakes “sand dollar” size like it says in the recipe but they were way too liquidy so I ended up making them a tad bit bigger. It made about 5 pancakes, which was enough for 1 – 2 servings for myself, but I like to eat smaller portions. If I were making enough for two people, I would double the recipe.

These were really tasty. They tasted exactly like you would think mashed bananas and fried eggs would taste like. Just a hint of savory under the sweetness of maple syrup. You can also add vanilla if you want but I wasn’t feeling vanilla last night. And now that I think of it, a tad bit of powdered sugar on these bad boys, instead of syrup, would have been delightful. Next time, with berries and powdered sugar and bacon on the side!

What’s your favorite brinner food?

2 Responses to “Banana Pancakes for Brinner”

  1. interiorsbykenz February 20, 2013 at 12:12 pm #

    I saw this recipe on the healthy bunny food girls website. I LOVE these banana pancakes. I make them all the time. MMM so good with peanut butter on top.

    • paigetopus February 20, 2013 at 1:10 pm #

      PEANUT BUTTER! great idea! 😀

Leave a Reply

