Camping (in the woods)

15 Feb

I know it’s only February but I already can’t stop thinking about camping! I used to camp with my family every summer but once I moved to California I didn’t have the equipment (nor friends) to camp with. So I went for a whole summer without camping.

And this year, I’m so excited that I’ve already started talking to friends about trips and made a google calendar for us all to share. But since we won’t actually go camping for another few months, I’ll tell you about some of my favorite trips!

I’ve been camping since I was a child, so there are a lot of memories, but one of my more recent favorites is when I camped with a small group of my family members in the White Mountains in New Hampshire in 2009. Now my dad’s side of the family is huge. He has three brothers and a sister, not to mention a few second cousins and their kids. So family gatherings can get big, fast. So this group was on the smaller side.

buncha Swarbricks

buncha Swarbricks

Good lookin’ group, I think! Mind you, this is a small group. And of course we bring the dogs!

Most camping weekends with the family are spent hiking, drinking, building fires, drinking, playing in rivers, drinking, playing games like horseshoe, drinking and more drinking.

gather 'round!

gather ’round!

This is a self-timed, third-times-a-charm, family portrait, including our good friend Jameson.

The best activity of that weekend, by far, was hiking up the mountain and coming back down in the river. And the river was freezing! I could barely feel my legs by the time we got to the bottom. But watching my dad fall in the river twice, a man who is trained in staying alive in the woods for days, if not weeks, while me and my dear mother, who have all the balance of giraffes in a trapeze act, never fell once. Unfortunately, karma bit me in the butt because I melted my shoes on the fire trying to dry them off. You win some, you lose some.

 

After I moved back to California, I missed camping an immense amount so I’m glad Todd loves to camp as much as I do. Our first weekend getaway together was for the fourth of July weekend in the Tahoe National Forest, right off of the Yuba river.

Yuba River and gold mining equipment

Yuba River and gold mining equipment

We car camped so we were able to bring all of the necessities, like a cooler full of beer. The campgrounds were only a few miles from a small town that had all of the small-town charm you could ever want. We forgot cash when we went to the general store and the clerk told us to just come back later.

which way will you go?

which way will you go?

We didn’t do a whole lot that weekend besides playing by the river, card games and poking at the fire. It was a great way to get back into the camping swing’o’things.

And finally, this past summer, we discovered that our good friends, Kat and David, love to camp, too! Kat took us to a place her family has been camping for generations. It was a mile hike in to a lake in the middle of the mountains and I can’t wait to go back again this summer. You can read all about it and see even more awesome pictures here.

Long Lake

Long Lake

What are some of your favorite summertime activities? Do you love to camp too?

3 Responses to “Camping (in the woods)”

  1. interiorsbykenz February 15, 2013 at 12:43 pm #

    I love camping so much. I miss it too. Utah has GREAT camping! It’s like a bi-monthly experience for us. Spring can come faster

    • paigetopus February 15, 2013 at 12:44 pm #

      that’s awesome! we’ve only gotten to go once each in the past two summers, so I’m hoping to at least double that, if not more, this summer!

      • interiorsbykenz February 15, 2013 at 1:40 pm #

        That would be so rockin

Leave a Reply

