This Post is Boring

7 Feb

I feel like I had a good run over the last couple weeks. I posted quite a few times and felt so inspired! And now … not so much. I feel uninspired at work, on my blog… just uninspired.

I’m also feeling uninspired with books. I lost my great-book streak when I started A Million Little Pieces by James Frey. First, I read the whole Smoking Gun article (found here). I still tried to go into the book with an open mind, just reading it as fiction, of course. But this book was just vitriolic spew (pun definitely intended) that I could not get through. I managed to read eight chapters before calling it quits. It was disgusting and not very well written. Repetition is fine, but repetition of vomiting and the same curses… is not my thing. I have no problem reading about that kind of stuff, but it just kept happening over and over and OVER. And after starting it, it really bothered me that he told everyone it was all truth, when in fact, most of it was not. That is not a memoir. After I quit that book, I started Margaret Atwood’s The Year of the Flood. I really enjoyed Oryx and Crake so I’m looking forward to this one. And I received book #2 in Gail Carriger’s Parasol Protectorate Series. And! I’m meeting her at a book signing in a couple weeks. Yay, books! What books are you reading these days?

In other news, it’s a gray day outside. I was looking forward to running around the Capitol tonight. I only live about 2 miles from it and I believe it’s 2 miles around. The great part is that it’s one giant park so you don’t have to worry about crossing streets or cars. You know, unless some car decides it wants to drive on the sidewalk. In which case, shout: “Go home car! You’re drunk!” But. It is a gray day, so if it rains, running will commence on a treadmill at the gym. Bonus part about that: hot tub. There’s no hot tub at the Capitol. Someone should get on that…

Also, I am questioning my sanity lately. I’m a little weird, and most people know it. Last night Todd had a lonely sock, so of course I put it on my hand and grumbled, “put your foot in me!” And then I couldn’t stop laughing for a solid half an hour. Even laughed about it in the shower this morning. Todd’s response was, “you’re weird.” Yes, and thank you for noticing.

Well, this has been a general update. If you’re in New Englad, please keep safe in the blizzard! If you’re anywhere else… I hope your Friday and weekend are great and snow free 🙂

2 Responses to “This Post is Boring”

  1. interiorsbykenz February 8, 2013 at 11:04 am #

    The Capitol should definitely get a hot tub. It’s popularity would severely increase.

    • paigetopus February 8, 2013 at 11:05 am #

      absolutely! I mean, you can go smell some flowers, check out how laws are made, and then take a soak! perfect!

Leave a Reply

