The Evolution of Hair

23 Jan

If you’ve followed along with my blog for the past year, then you know I had a rather horrific hairtastrophe right after Christmas 2011. I went to my mom’s hairdresser and she must have mistaken me for my 89 year old grandmother.

Here’s a picture to remind you of how horrid it was:

short hair

Everyone SWEARS that I looked good and it was a nice haircut, but it was absolutely NOT what I wanted, nor did I agree with any of them. I didn’t suit me at all. Speaking of suits, how handsome is my guy? 🙂

After it grew out for a couple months, it was looking pretty shaggy and I was lucky enough to be turned onto an amazing hairdresser in Sacramento: Sara. My first experience with her was wonderful. I might have been in the chair for 2 hours, but she knew what she was doing, and she did it well.

middle hair

This was taken at my cousin’s wedding in May. It was growing out, but not quite to where I wanted it to be.

After that, I let it grow out until I couldn’t stand it any longer.

old hair

(Ignore the weird face. The reasoning behind that is that whenever I get all dolled up, I feel like my glasses detract from everything I just did. So it goes.)

At this point, it was long enough and the layers had grown out so much that I was having trouble doing stuff with it. It usually ended up in pins (like above) which I do love doing (since I adore the 1940’s look) and sometimes even a ponytail which I don’t really like doing.

This month I knew I’d be getting an overtime check so I made an appointment with Sara, the magician of hair, and was itching to get into that seat. She again, worked wonders on my hair. I showed her a picture of the style I had in mind and she executed it perfectly.

new hair

Is she not wonderful? (She is.)

The picture isn’t that great quality but it’s never easy taking a selfie 😛

I’m so happy that my curls are no longer mad at me for shearing them off. They all together disappeared for awhile and once they were back, they did not want to look right or do what I told them to. Now they’re back, and I’m pampering them with some Moroccan Oil curl cream, which I highly recommend if you want soft, light curls.

And that’s my hair’s story of 2012 🙂

4 Responses to “The Evolution of Hair”

  1. Stephanie January 23, 2013 at 6:57 pm #

    your new ‘do looks FABULOUS. seriously.

  2. Kenz @ Interiors by Kenz January 23, 2013 at 9:47 pm #

    Love the new hair! It’s sassy.

    • paigetopus January 24, 2013 at 12:47 pm #

      sassy, huh? I like sassy! thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

