The Bread Dilemma

22 Jan

One of the things I miss most about eating a full-gluten diet is bread. Crusty, soft, pillowy, delicious BREAD. I’ve tried some GF bread here and there (UDI’s is probably the best) but none of it can compare.

On Saturday we had dinner with Todd’s mom. She stopped at Boudin to get a big loaf of bread to go with our steak and salad dinner.

Now, I’ve been good since Christmas. I’ve stayed away from gluten as much as I can. I think I’ve only lapsed once or twice and neither ended horribly for me, which is good.

But this warm, crusty bread… it just called my name. I managed to get through dinner and dessert without devouring the loaf whole. It didn’t help that Todd and his mom’s neighbor, Dave, were on either side of me mowing on this delicious smelling bread and discussing how tasty it was.

I couldn’t stand it anymore. I was to the point where I was talking to the bread. Telling it that I wanted it in my stomach NOW. There was one tiny, crusty heel left in the basket. I couldn’t help it. I turned into the bread hulk and slathered that bad boy in butter and went to town.

Fortunately, I didn’t die afterwards. Which makes me think that maybe I can still enjoy a tiny bit of bread, just every once in awhile. And I feel a little happier.

2 Responses to “The Bread Dilemma”

  1. Stephanie January 23, 2013 at 8:20 am #

    i really don’t think I could live without bread.
    and on a sidenote– next week i’ll be sharing a gluten free peanut butter cookie recipe! i thought of you when I saw it! 🙂

    • paigetopus January 23, 2013 at 8:31 am #

      Yeah I want a sandwich like no ones business haha

      Awesome! I think I saw one recently that I made a mental note to try 🙂

Leave a Reply

