After Spool Project

9 Jan

Hi all. Just wanted to share a picture of something I plan to refurbish:

spool

Can you believe I found this on the side of the road!? You can bet your bottom dollar I made Todd jump out and steal it šŸ™‚

I love the look of rustic-items-turned-furniture. I’m still playing with ideas on how to treat the wood but I know I want some kind of cushion on top. I might also add a middle shelf so that it’s easier to put smaller books and tchotchkes on it. I’ll have at least four dowels as support as well.

Unfortunately I need to wait for it to be fixed first since, as you can see, the top two pieces of wood are separating. There are also some dangerous-looking staples sticking out in random places.

Now should I paint, stain or do something totally different with it? The possibilities are endless! What are your thoughts?

3 Responses to “After Spool Project”

  1. Stephanie January 9, 2013 at 2:27 pm #

    love it!!! my suggestion: stain the bottom a delicious tint then paint the top. Use polycrylic or furniture wax to seal the top as well šŸ™‚

    • paigetopus January 9, 2013 at 2:47 pm #

      ooh I like that idea! my only concern is that we have black furniture and a lot of browns already going on (our living room isn’t very cohesive). so I’d want something that can stick around for a long time and always look good!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A goal without a plan is just a wish | paigetopus - March 29, 2013

    […] I have some big plans for this weekend. That spool that I posted about? I’m finally going to paint it. Todd is going to craft a middle shelf and add some dowels to […]

Leave a Reply

