Pinterest Food Challenge: Odds & Ends

13 Nov

This is not a recipe for something called “Odds & Ends.” Although that sounds like a great name for a stew or soup that you just throw whatever you have into a slow-cooker…

Today I’ll have just a few quick things for you.

Fall is a wonderful time for baking. So many seasonal-fruit-flavored treats to munch on everywhere you turn. Since summers in Sacramento are sweltering, I don’t get to scratch my baking itch until it cools down enough to turn on the oven, which around here doesn’t happen until November.

Last week, I found a recipe on Pinterest for Nutella-stuffed brown butter chocolate chip cookies with sea salt. As amazing as that sounds, the looks of the recipe were just way too complicated for me. So instead, I took the cookie recipe off of the back of the Nestle chocolate chips bag and then put Nutella in them.
Some notes if you do it this way: the dough is very sticky! The first one I did, I tried to hold the dough in my hands and then shape it around the Nutella. This did not work out well. Eventually I was putting a dollop (a large tablespoon scoop) of dough onto a cookie sheet and creating a crater in the middle, adding the Nutella to that (about half a teaspoon) and then squooshing (technical term for you) the sides up around it. This way worked the best and turned out delicious.
These cookies had a thin, crispy outside with a soft, chewy inside, filled with Nutella! I definitely recommend this one.

 

Secondly, I’ve got a recipe for beef and broccoli stewing away in a slow-cooker at home. I can give you a better step-by-step on this one.

Ingredients
1 pound boneless beef chuck roast, sliced into thin strips
1 cup beef consomme
1/2 cup soy sauce
1/3 cup brown sugar
1 tablespoon sesame oil
3 garlic cloves, minced
2 tablespoons cornstarch
2 tablespoons sauce from the crock pot after being cooked
Fresh broccoli florets (as many as desired)
Hot cooked rice

Directions
1. Place beef in a crock pot.
2. In a small bowl, combine consomme, soy sauce, brown sugar, oil, and garlic. Pour over beef. Cook on low for 6-8 hours.
3. In a cup, stir cornstarch and sauce form the crock pot until smooth. Add to crock pot. Stir well to combine.
4. Add broccoli to the crock pot. Stir to combine.
5. Cover and cook an additional 30 minutes on high (the sauce has to boil for it to thicken).
6. Serve over hot cooked rice.

Last night while I was making dinner, I took an extra few minutes while my food was cooking to prep this meal. I’m glad I did because I fought with the beef chuck roast for a good 15 minutes. Normally I chuck my chuck roast right into the slow cooker whole, so this was my first experience cutting it up. All of the fat made it pretty difficult to cut through sometimes, and I bought a piece that was almost 4 pounds, so I had to separate it into smaller pound-sized chunks first.

After I finally got about a pound of beef sliced up, I threw it in a ziploc bag and added some soy sauce to let it sit overnight. I also cut up my broccoli florets to have ready for when the time comes.

This morning I got out my slow cooker and threw the beef in. I mixed up the ingredients noted in step #2 and threw that in the crock pot as well. By the time I get home tonight, it should be smelling tasty and I finish the last few steps. I only had it on for about 15 minutes before I left the house this morning and it already smelled delicious! I can’t wait to taste it tonight.

 

What have you been cooking up lately? What are some of your favorite fall treats?

Leave a Reply

