Failed Pinterest Crafternoon

16 Oct

Have you seen those websites dedicated to the idiots that can’t follow a simple craft on Pinterest? Usually I read them and think, “I know exactly what they did wrong!” But this time I did one… and it just didn’t… look right.

The basic idea: get a few pieces of canvas or canvas board. Paint the boards whatever color your little heart desires. Find some leaves or flowers and lay them down on the (dry) canvas boards. Spray paint over so that you create a silhouette. Ta da!

Not so. At least not for me. It looked so neat on the website! I only spent $2.50 on three boards that were probably 12×9 and I already had paint and leaves are free, so it wasn’t a huge loss, but they just looked so … sad. The first board I painted a light green. I had some dark silver spray paint leftover from painting a wine rack so I used that with some large sugar maple leaves.

green, blue, orange

green, blue, orange

My main concern was that the leaves didn’t want to stay in place while spray painting. I didn’t want to tape them down and ruin the paint underneath. So the leaves ended up moving about and the edges were rather blurred.

maple leaves

maple leaves

I decided to take a different approach with the other two, painted orange and teal/blue, respectively. I used smaller leaves for these ones and held each leaf down as I used silver acrylic paint and a paint brush to apply the shiny top coat.

orange and blue

orange and blue

This method worked infinitely better but there were other issues…

dirty painting

dirty painting

The residue from the leaf adhered itself to the orange portion of the board. Unfortunately I mixed that color myself and I am terrible at matching colors that I’ve mixed previously.

Overall this project was a huge FAIL. I’m going to get some spray primer and re-do these with a different Pinterest craft! Hopefully that one will turn out better than this one.

What kinds of crafts do you like to do? Any great ideas come from a Pinterest board? Or have some of your great ideas flopped, like mine? I’d love to hear!

4 Responses to “Failed Pinterest Crafternoon”

  1. kevincameronartist October 16, 2012 at 10:01 am #

    Not so certain you should see it as a huge “fail”. You started out with a concept and may not have achieved exactly what you imagined but that is part of the creative process too, isn’t it. I’m not an expert but take those ‘mistakes’ and use them in your next project. Store those ‘accidents’ as perhaps a technique for another attempt. You’ve created something! Looks good to me.

    • paigetopus October 16, 2012 at 10:06 am #

      thanks for the positive perspective! I’ll have to keep that in mind next time something doesn’t come out exactly how I wanted it 🙂

  2. Stephanie October 16, 2012 at 10:04 am #

    if you wanted to try again, you can lightly tape them down to hold them still– then it looks like you just need a few more thin, thin, thin coats of spray paint.

    or, just print a leaf silhouette off the internet and cheat the whole thing 🙂

    • paigetopus October 16, 2012 at 10:07 am #

      a leaf print out would be a MUCH better idea! but when I first found the boards I had two ideas floating around… the other involved a raised pattern made with glue, so I think I’ll try that one next 🙂

Leave a Reply

