I am just the worst

2 Oct

I am not good at blogging lately. More often than not, I just want to read or watch an episode or two of Ugly Betty (have you ever watched it? I watched it when it was on regularly and loved it … now rewatching :)).

I’ve also been dealing with a few health issues. Nothing major, just a few things that are my body’s way of letting me know I’m declining towards death.

On the bright side though, it’s fall! Except not. Because it’s supposed to be 100 degrees today. On October 2nd. Normally by this time, even in northern California, things start to cool down a bit. This past September was one of the hottest on record. I love summertime and all of the summer activities that go along with it. But only while it’s supposed to last. Now I want to drink warm drinks, wear scarves and boots and not sweat my face off when I run through a corn maze or a pumpkin patch. Is that so much to ask?

I also finally finished King’s It. Took me damn near a month to read it! Actually I think it was longer… but anything more than a couple weeks for me is just ridiculous. It is a 1000+ page book after all, so it’s not surprising. And I flew through the last 300 pages or so because I just couldn’t put it down. Overall it was a really, absolutely wonderful book. I was terrified. I couldn’t read at night if Todd wasn’t home. And I loved it. King gives such great details about every character that by the end of the book you feel like you actually know these people. I understand now why my friend David said he’s read it twice and because I was reading it, thinking about reading it for a third time!

I’m going to try to get back on the Pinterest Food Challenge wagon again this week, too! Visit my friend Stephanie’s blog to check out some of the recipes she’s tried out. Because it’s so hot this week, I refuse to turn on my stove. Most people think of crock pots as only being for hearty, mid-winter meals. Alas, they are not! Yesterday I made taco chicken; a pound of chicken breasts, a couple cups of your favorite salsa and a packet of taco seasoning – 8 hours on low, and voila! Taco chicken! Tomorrow I’ll be making a crab and corn soup. You’re probably thinking, “soup is for cold days!” but with some fresh chunks of avocado and some iced tea, I think it’ll be a perfect late-summer dish.

And because my favorite holiday is Halloween – what are your ideas for costumes? Got any great Halloween plans? I still haven’t picked out a costume so I have to get on that soon! Any ideas for someone who loves to be ghoulish and unique?

2 Responses to “I am just the worst”

  1. Stephanie October 2, 2012 at 12:58 pm #

    1. When I first bought your ipod from you, I got Ugly Betty reminders every week. Even after I shut them off… it kept resetting itself 🙂

    2. I have no idea what I’m being for halloween, but dog and foster dog will be batman and robin!!

    • paigetopus October 2, 2012 at 1:00 pm #

      I didn’t even realize I had put reminders in there for myself! that’s funny!
      that is an adorable idea! and not surprising, coming from you 🙂

Leave a Reply

