Two Great Things

18 Sep

Two posts in two days! What am I, a machine? Probably not, maybe things are just slow at work. But you’ll never know!

I just wanted to share two things with all of you that I think are pretty great:

1. My little sister, who will be 18 in a few weeks, and who just started her senior year of high school, got her assistant teacher certificate! If you knew my sister, you would know how difficult this was for her. She has never been the best student. She’s excelled at sports since she was old enough to stand in front of a tee ball stand, but she’s never liked school. She deicded recently that she wanted to become a special ed teacher, so this is a step in the absolute right direction, and I couldn’t be more proud!

2. My dad was just awarded his second Purple Heart for his service in the United States Army. On May 30th, of this year, he saved the lives of two men. He wasn’t hurt as badly as one of the others, who lost half of his leg, but if my dad hadn’t been there, that man would have lost a lot more than his leg, and my dad was rewarded handsomely for being brave, strong and courageous. It absolutely terrifies me that he still has to spend another 4 – 5 months in Afghanistan, but knowing he’s saving lives and fighting for our county makes me very proud.

 

Just two things I wanted to share with you on a Tuesday morning!

One Response to “Two Great Things”

  1. Stephanie September 18, 2012 at 11:35 am #

    AWESOME for your sister, and also your dad is a serious hero.

Leave a Reply

