On Vacation

15 Aug

I apologize for my lack of posts lately. The month of vacations is upon us! Let me share with you a list:

– August 10 – 13: went to Long Lake in the Tahoe National Forest to camp. I’ll share pictures of this momentarily.
– August 24 – 26: going to San Francisco to spend a weekend hanging out with Todd’s parents, traipsing about the city, and doing touristy things.
– August 31 – September 4: taking a road trip to Arizona to see my best friend, Calyn.
– September 8 – 9: celebrating my 26th birthday!

So, as you can see, I’m a busy lady.

Onto the camping stories! Todd and I went to the mountains with our friends David and Kat, and their chocolate lab, Moose. It was so wonderful to get away from work, technology, stress and all of that other garbage that comes along with being a responsible adult. We left Friday morning and got there early in the afternoon. The site we were camping at was actually a mile hike in and sat right on Long Lake. The weather was warm all weekend but the lake and breezes provided much cooling off. I only got minor sunburns and sustained a pretty good gash on my left thumb from a rather sharp knife. I am currently surviving, but the prognosis is not good.

One of my favorite parts of the weekend was experiencing the meteor shower. We had no idea that it was this past weekend so it was a beautiful surprise. We sat back in our camp chairs and twisted our necks until our heads almost popped off. It was one of the most beautiful sights I’ve ever seen. It’s hard to express in words how beautiful nature can be.

Instead, I’ll share pictures! They’re worth 1,000 words, right? So here are a few thousand “words.”

Our set-up

Our set-up

A wild Moose!

A wild Moose!

Devil's Peak and Long Lake

Devil’s Peak and Long Lake

A tree in Long Lake

A tree in Long Lake

Me and my guy on a hike towards the canyon

Me and my guy on a hike towards the canyon

 

My favorite picture from the weekend

My favorite picture from the weekend

Do you have any great vacations planned?

One Response to “On Vacation”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Camping (in the woods) | paigetopus - February 15, 2013

    […] And finally, this past summer, we discovered that our good friends, Kat and David, love to camp, too! Kat took us to a place her family has been camping for generations. It was a mile hike in to a lake in the middle of the mountains and I can’t wait to go back again this summer. You can read all about it and see even more awesome pictures here. […]

Leave a Reply

