The Reverend Horton Heat

18 Jul

Some things I never thought I would say:

– I enjoyed a rockabilly show.

Okay… I guess that’s really it. Anyway, I went to a rockabilly show last night and it was a really great time. It’s always fun to just let your guard down and experience something out of your comfort zone. Never would I have picked up an album for The Reverend Horton Heat, but Todd wanted to go (I denied him last time they came around) so we went! We met up with his parents’ neighbor, David, and he’s a big ole biker dude so we looked like we had some kind of street cred (is that what the kids are saying these days?)

I forgot how much fun shows can be, though. I used to go to hardcore/punk shows all the time as a teenager. I was never the moshing type (still, of course) but it’s interesting to watch these kids knock each other around for kicks and giggles.

It was also really good for people watching. A lot of greasers and their 50’s-style girlfriends, a bunch of punk kids covered in patches and safety pins, and of course a few run-o-the-mill music lovers like me and Todd.

Have you done anything out of your comfort zone lately?

2 Responses to “The Reverend Horton Heat”

  1. lazylauramaisey July 19, 2012 at 1:58 pm #

    I started swimming in the last month. I go every day now but before that, it had been years. Getting into a swimming costume seemed like an alien idea. Then one day I just did it. And it was totally fine. Now I love it!

    • paigetopus July 20, 2012 at 10:03 am #

      gosh. now you’re making me think I need to go swimming at my gym like my boyfriend’s been urging me to!

Leave a Reply

