A New Chicken

11 Jul

Yes, I’ve done it! I’ve made another type of chicken! Surprised? I’m not. I love chicken. It’s easy. It’s tasty. You can do a million things with it. What is there NOT to love!? That’s right, nothing.

Unfortunately, I did not take pictures of the process. They would look something like this:

– Picture of raw chicken in a crock pot with salsa and taco seasoning
– Picture of cooked chicken in a crock pot with salsa and taco seasoning
– Picture of an empty plate because that’s how fast I devoured the tacos that I put this chicken into.

Seriously. It was stupid easy. Before I went to work yesterday I put 1 and 1/3 pounds chicken in my crotchety crock pot. I guess technically it’s a slow cooker since it does not brandish the name Crock Pot, but pish posh, who gives a rat’s caboodle?

So I put the chicken in with a mixture of a packet of taco seasoning and a jar of salsa (I used La Victoria mild red salsa, but any kind would work). THAT’S IT. I kid you not, ladies and gentlemen. I stirred it up so the little chickens were nice and covered, I turned the Not Crock Pot onto low, and I went to work. By the time I got home, the chicken was so fally-aparty (technical term for you there) that I had to take it out with a slotted spoon. It was the easiest shredding I’ve ever done (aside from whenever I play Santana on Guitar Hero for the Wii).

This was a recipe I found on Pinterest, but it didn’t actually have a website attached to it. Just quick and dirty directions right in the description. I put my chicken on a tortilla with guacamole, raw red onions, cheese and lettuce. And I would have smothered it in sour cream to balance it out if I had some.

You don’t need to marinade anything. Just throw all of it right in and come back 6 – 8 hours later (or 4 – 5 if you put it on high). Definitely tasty and totally worth a try!

And here’s a handy step-by-step (sans Suzanne Somers) if that’s helpful:

Ingredients:
– 1 to 1 and 1/2 pounds of raw chicken (breasts or tenders)
– 1 packet of any brand or flavor of taco seasoning
– 1 jar (roughly 8 – 10 ounces) of brand/intensity of salsa (the hotter the salsa, the hotter the chicken!)

Instructions:
– mix together taco seasoning and salsa in the crock pot
– place chicken into the pot and cover with the mixture
– heat on low for 6 – 8 hours or high for 4 – 5
– place in a taco shell with all of your favorite ingredients and go to town!

4 Responses to “A New Chicken”

  1. Stephanie July 16, 2012 at 4:20 am #

    man I really need to stop being so scared of my crockpot and just get on it already! that sounds delicious.

    • paigetopus July 17, 2012 at 11:51 am #

      don’t be afraid! it’s so easy to use. way easier than anything on the stove or in the oven. just throw some stuff in and come back in a few hours 🙂

      the first recipe I ever made in mine was a pot roast (using my mom’s recipe) and it was DEVOURED in one sitting (granted two of the people eating were large males :)). if you want that recipe, I’d be happy to share! pot roast and this chicken are probably the two easiest crock pot meals I’ve made!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pinterest Food Challenge: Crab and Corn Soup « paigetopus - October 5, 2012

    […] can find my other recipes here: crock pot taco chicken, parmesan crusted chicken tenders, creamy chicken taquitos, and a bunch of others that I’ve […]

  2. Slow Cooker: tips, tricks, and recipes! | paigetopus - February 13, 2013

    […] one is super easy. Update: looks like I already posted this one! See it here. (Also, I think I’m pretty […]

Leave a Reply

