Car People

9 Jul

I’ve never considered myself a “car person.” There are some cars that I like and I know how to change a flat tire. I’ve dreamed of owning a 1965 cherry red, convertible Mustang since I was a tween. But I don’t take joy in wandering around a salvage yard. I don’t go to car shows. Or, I didn’t, until I met Todd, at least.

Good news, guys! Car shows are exciting. There are a bunch of different kinds of shows, too, I’ve learned. Every summer in Rocklin, CA, there’s a car show AND chili cook-off! My kind of car show! We went last summer and got there rather late and only got to try a few types of chili. But they were all delicious and the cars were a lot of fun to look at.

This past weekend we went to Midnight Mass in Lincoln, CA. This show is for a certain era of “rat rods,” which is essentially a type of car that you build out of whatever you have. We saw a lot of old Ford pick-ups, a lot of Mercurys (Mercuries?) and a ton of crazy, pieced-together hot rods.

Mercury

Notice that the gas tank is a keg!

Is it a bus? Is it a van?

Another interesting sight at these types of events are the people. Some car shows are great for people watching! This show was especially fun because there were a lot of hot pin-up girls and smooth greasers. There was a beer tent, live music, and even a burlesque competition.

Despite the ridiculous heat of the day (it was 95 degrees at 8pm!), it was a great time, and you’ll be seeing me at a lot more car shows!

1957 Ford

One Response to “Car People”

  1. jumpingpolarbear July 9, 2012 at 1:31 pm #

    Love classic cars :).

Leave a Reply

