Just an Update

27 Jun

Hi all. Just checking in for a quick update. Work is busy right now with legislation review in progress and another coworker out on maternity leave.

I made that banana bread I talked about but I was halfway through the process before I remembered I was going to try to take some pictures! Brown goop doesn’t picture well anyway. I’ll share my recipe at a later date though.

The past two days I spent at Microsoft Access 2010 training. Databases! Fun! Right!? Something like that. Being out of the office for two days was nice though. I got to sleep in AND got to go home early. Win/win. I even made the best out of my early departure yesterday and went to the gym.

I’ve been trying to catch up on reading lately. It’s difficult when I work 8 – 5 and have friends and things to do so I’m trying to make more time. I read on the bike at the gym which also helps get my mind off the fact that I’ve been riding a bike for 45 minutes! It’s great.

I finished Devil in the White City by Erik Larson last week. The information was all very interesting but the set-up was lacking in my mind. I’ll try to do a review of that in the future.

I’m currently reading a classic: Carrie by Stephen King. I’m loving it. It’s a quick read but it’s definitely fulfilling my hopes for what the book should be like. I saw the movie as a child (and subsequently many times since) and have always loved it. Horror is a favorite genre of mine. I haven’t read much King but I know I want to. I think It or Stephanie’s favorite, Misery, will be my next King books. I’ll be reading Vonnegut’s Breakfast of Champions for a book club before any of that though.

Alright, get back to work!

2 Responses to “Just an Update”

  1. Stephanie June 28, 2012 at 8:16 am #

    I just saw Carrie for the first time a month or so ago because I thought I’d be afraid of it– I now want to read it this summer too! Summer is for fun, easy, sit in the sun reading..in my opinion.

    • paigetopus June 28, 2012 at 8:46 am #

      yes! definitely. you should read it. Only took me a couple hours a day over a three-day period. it’s very different from the movie but still great!

Leave a Reply

