Music is my Lifeblood

21 Jun

Gosh. I just can’t express how much music moves me. But I’m going to try.

We have a radio station here that plays a lot of stuff not normally heard on the radio. I don’t mean to sound like a condescending hipster here, but Foster the People played on this station about 9 months before they were on any other station. I think that’s pretty cool. They play bands like Alabama Shakes, Two Door Cinema Club, Grouplove… you get the idea. They even let you vote on which songs you want to hear more or less!

Image cred: google.com

Image cred: google.com

And I love that I have access to new music that’s not normally radio-played because I’m not a radio-music kind of gal most of the time.

I will admit I do like the catchier songs and I’ll dance my face off to Katy Perry’s “E.T.” anytime, but 90% of radio music is annoying. Why does Jason Derulo have to say his name at the beginning of every song? And I’m pretty sure Bieber’s songs all sound the exact same. It’s a molestation of the ears.

Image cred: google.com

Image cred: google.com

There are some talented artists out there that are mainstream, and that’s great. But the ones that are in it for the money and fame are not my style. The ones that do it for the feeling and the love and the movement… they rock my heart. Florence’s voice brings me close to tears. Mates of State makes me dance like a fool; plus their kids are flippin’ adorable. Beyoncรฉ though? Man, that woman is gorgeous and TALENTED! What I wouldn’t do to have her moves.

Image cred: google.com

Image cred: google.com

So what are some of your favorite bands or artists? What kind of music makes you feel feelings? Leave a comment and give me a heads up on some of your favorite music so I can listen too!

6 Responses to “Music is my Lifeblood”

  1. lazylauramaisey June 21, 2012 at 2:25 pm #

    At the moment I’m really into Goldfrapp, Vincent McMorrow and Max Richter. All good for making me feel something or get up and dance!

    • paigetopus June 22, 2012 at 2:24 pm #

      I don’t know any of those! I’ll have to check them out later. thanks ๐Ÿ˜€

      • Todd June 22, 2012 at 3:18 pm #

        I have a Goldfrapp CD, we can listen to it tonight.

      • paigetopus June 22, 2012 at 3:21 pm #

        I knew that one sounded familiar for a reason!

  2. Stephanie June 22, 2012 at 9:35 am #

    I listen to some really ridiculous music when I drive around in the summer because I only want to hear hilarious or happy songs when the sun is shining… and because I’m super white, hilarious to me means rapping along with lil wayne. ๐Ÿ™‚
    however, i always love the avett brothers, the black keys, and frank turner ๐Ÿ™‚

    • paigetopus June 22, 2012 at 2:23 pm #

      yes! I do the same thing, except I blast kanye ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m way too white to know as many of the words to “monster” as I do…

Leave a Reply

