Pinterest Food Challenge: Parmesan Crusted Chicken Tenders

9 Jun

Listen well, because I’m going to tell you something important: you need to make this dish. I make this almost every week and have since I discovered the recipe.

Unfortunately, the recipe is not from pinterest. I found it at Food on the Table(which I suggest you all sign up for and download the app on your iPhone!). It helps you find recipes based on your preferences, makes your shopping list based on those recipes (you can also add your own items), and it even gives you specials and sales based on the store of your choosing. What’s even more awesome, if you activate the location services (if you’re an iPhone person) and you come within a certain distance of another grocery store, it’ll ask if you’d like to switch your deals there! Super easy and exciting, right?!

(Continuation of the) sidenote: I really love this website/app because it helps me meal plan. The grocery list is the best thing since sliced banana bread too because it helps me stick to my plan. I rarely deviate from what is on the list which stops us from buying foods that we don’t need and overeating. It’s also great for someone like me (attached to my iPhone at all times) because the grocery list is a check list right on the app! It even separates everything into departments (produce, dairy, deli, baked goods).

But since you have to be a member of this wonderful website to get the recipes and do all the fun stuff, I’ll try to go into a little more detail with this post.

Parmesan Crusted Chicken Tenders

Here is the ingredient list:

1 pound chicken breast tenders
1/2 cup grated parmesan cheese
2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
1/4 cup breadcrumbs
touch of black pepper
1 teaspoon seasoning salt
1 tablespoon dried parsley flakes
1/4 cup canola oil

I rarely deviate from this recipe just because it’s practically perfect. I recommend using finely grated parmesan if possible. I always use shredded parmesan (because I shred it myself) and it doesn’t tend to stick as well so I have to pour the excess on the chicken while it’s in the pan. I would still use as fresh as you can get though. None of that Kraft stuff you put on spaghetti! It’s well worth it to get the good stuff, I promise. A block of parmesan will give you twice the amount of cheese for the same price! And you work out your arm muscles when you grate it. Win/win!

First, mix all of the dry ingredients.

I (again) don’t really measure things. I tend to make just a little bit extra, which is fine if you want to pour the excess into the pan like I do.

Mix these ingredients up very well. The cheese tends to stay on top and the flour on bottom so you want to get a very good mixture on each piece of chicken.

Next, dredge your chicken! By this point, you’ll want to have the canola oil heating in a large frying pan on the stove.

Cover the chicken in the mixture as best you can.

Put the pieces into the pan as you bread them. Once they’re all in the pan, you can add the rest of the dry mixture on top of the pieces.

Let them cook on medium to medium-low for a couple minutes on each side, until they start to turn brown and crispy. (Here’s how I know if my heat is too high: the canola oil starts popping and burning my arm. If it does that, turn it down!) I don’t typically time this kind of thing so I try turning one tender, to see how it’s cooking, then flip them all once they’re ready and let them get crispy on the other side.

This is how they should look when they’re close to being done. They should be light to dark brown in color. There’s no easy way to test them, and I like to be safe rather than sorry, so I usually cut a thicker piece open to make sure it’s cooked.

To finish it off, I quickly pan fried some zucchini with sea salt and garlic powder. This meal is great for summer because it’s quick, easy, and doesn’t involve turning on the oven! I recommend enjoying it with a light chardonnay or a crisp summer beer, like Peroni (which you can bet I had last night)!

One Response to “Pinterest Food Challenge: Parmesan Crusted Chicken Tenders”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pinterest Food Challenge: Crab and Corn Soup « paigetopus - October 5, 2012

    […] can find my other recipes here: crock pot taco chicken, parmesan crusted chicken tenders, creamy chicken taquitos, and a bunch of others that I’ve done. And of course, you should go […]

Leave a Reply

