Pinterest Food Challenge: Creamy Chicken Taquitos

6 Jun

Pinterest Food Challenge!

Hi all! Last night I made creamy chicken taquitos and they were quite tasty. I’ll give you the step by step.

This recipe uses cooked chicken. Usually I’ll have some in the fridge for recipes like this, but I had raw chicken on hand last night.

I seasoned it lightly since it was going to be added to a bunch of other ingredients. The recipe, found here, calls for 2 cups of cooked chicken. I made more to have on hand for tomorrow’s dinner.

While that was cooking, I mixed together the other ingredients. I deviated severely from the recipe this time, but it was still just as delicious.

I used:
– 3 oz (or so, I don’t measure) of cream cheese, softened
-1/4 cup red chunky salsa (I had no green, and it’s super tasty)
– juice of half a lime
– 1/2 tsp of ground cumin, 1/2 teaspoon of onion powder, 1/2 tsp of sea salt (I didn’t measure any of these either)
– 2 cloves of garlic
– 1/4 cup of green onions
I didn’t use chili powder because the salsa I used was medium and had enough heat for us. You can use what the recipe says if you enjoy more of a kick. I also didn’t use cilantro because I find I can’t keep it fresh for more than a couple days.

Next I mixed in the shredded Mexican style cheese and all of the shredded chicken.

Make sure it’s mixed very well so that your taquitos are evenly distributed.

I only had 11 tortillas on hand so I had to stuff them a little fuller than usual. Also be sure to microwave your tortillas so they’re easier to work with. Put a few tablespoons, 2 – 3, of the mixture into each tortilla and roll it tightly, laying it seam-side down onto the baking sheet. Make sure to use oven safe parchment paper, foil, or cooking spray on the sheet.

I put a little too much mixture into each one so mine were more full than they should be.

I recommend lightly spraying oil or using an oil brush on top of the taquitos with a little ground sea salt. It gives it an extra yummy crunch on top.

Bake at 425 degrees for 15 – 20 minutes (if they are smaller taquitos, I recommend less time, between 12 – 15). They should be lightly golden brown and crispy on the edges.

Serve with your favorite salsa and sour cream! I like mine smothered in sour cream, personally. Adding a little guacamole is never a bad choice either.

If you missed my first post, check out all the other recipes I’ve used. Also take a look at Stephanie’s post introducing the food challenge!

Have you made anything tasty recently?

4 Responses to “Pinterest Food Challenge: Creamy Chicken Taquitos”

  1. Stephanie June 6, 2012 at 8:48 am #

    that looks so nice and easy! i think it’ll end up on next week’s menu πŸ™‚

    • paigetopus June 6, 2012 at 9:18 am #

      it is very easy! this is the third time I’ve made them and have done it differently every time with just as delicious results πŸ™‚

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Creamy Chicken Taquitos! | - June 12, 2012

    […] in on my Pinterest Food Challenge, and last night I decided to cook her first challenge dinner- taquitos! Her recipe is different then mine, and she references yet another recipe in her post so be sure to […]

  2. Pinterest Food Challenge: Crab and Corn Soup « paigetopus - October 5, 2012

    […] can find my other recipes here: crock pot taco chicken, parmesan crusted chicken tenders, creamy chicken taquitos, and a bunch of others that I’ve done. And of course, you should go check out […]

Leave a Reply

