Life of a Bus Passenger, Part 1

30 May

Guys. I’m going to start a new series on my blog called Life of a Bus Passenger. I take public transportation to get to and from work. When I lived in Massachusetts, I took the T whenever I was going to Boston (or anywhere around it). It was easy, I knew all the routes and it was cheap. There’s something different about taking a bus though. I can’t quite put my finger on it but I am not the happiest person when I’m on the bus.

So let it begin, Life of a Bus Passenger, Part 1.

My second week taking the bus was still a time of understanding what happens on public transportation in Sacramento. Thankfully I had Todd to tough it out with.

Being the new person in my office, I gleefully offered up a promise of baked goods from some leftover funds. Not only did my frosting not set up right, but I had to bring the whole ugly but delicious concoction onto the bus.

Now, I’m not the type of person to ogle over other’s belongings and whatnots. Even if a woman has a gorgeous dress on and I covet it, I don’t often comment on it. I’m just not the type to talk to strangers.

So there I am, sitting next to my handsome gent, eager to get to the office (and off the damn bus) when a middle-parted, bobbed head appears between us. “Ooooh, what’ve you got there?”

“Cupcakes… for my office,” I sheepishly retorted.

“Well, you know when you bring treats on the bus you have to share them!” she leered.

“I think the people in my office would be pretty upset if I showed up without the cupcakes I promised.”

“Okay, then I’ll just sit back here and drool!”

“That’s your problem, not mine,” I dead-panned in her general direction.

The chorus of “oooh!”s heard ’round the bus made me feel like I was back in middle school. Except this time I was the insult-dealer and not the awkward kid in the back of the class wishing I could be cool enough to stand up to someone.

Ever since then I try to hide anything that I might be lugging to the office with me for fear of being verbally assaulted by a ruthlessly nosy fellow passenger.

3 Responses to “Life of a Bus Passenger, Part 1”

  1. Stephanie May 31, 2012 at 6:57 am #

    oh i am so NOT a bus person…. bus people are totally different then train people. GOD SPEED! 🙂

    • paigetopus May 31, 2012 at 8:15 am #

      they really are! I have another post to write about today… and it’s only 8:15am!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Life of a Bus Passenger, Part 2 | paigetopus - May 31, 2012

    […] Skip to content HomeAbout ← Life of a Bus Passenger, Part 1 May 31, 2012 · 9:00 am ↓ Jump to […]

Leave a Reply

