Overuse of Internet Phrases

9 Apr

LOL… BRB… TMI… there are so many acronyms that people use these days on the interwebz. I have never been one to use many of them. Of course I used the popular ones of the early 2000’s when AIM was the cool way to interact to your friends and meet new people. But having two degrees in English has made me love the usage of words and phrases, NOT acronyms. Most of them are pretty harmless. I cringe when I get a few of them from friends in text messages wondering how much harder it would be to just type out the short words that they are shortening further. Some I just flat out don’t get. I’ve been told what SMH is a hundred times but can’t seem to remember what it means. Not that I care since I don’t use it.

One of the ones I loathe though is “FML” which was made popular by the website of the same name. I often see people using it on Facebook and it more than makes me cringe. It makes me want to ask that person why they’re using such a harsh term when they’re just complaining about mundane things. “I got to school and realized that I forgot my BLUE pen and I only have a black one now! FML!” “My cat woke me up 7 minutes before my alarm went off and wanted to be fed. FML.” Really? These are the things that you think make your life absolutely miserable? What about the homeless man outside your house digging through your recycle bin because he hasn’t had a meal in 3 days? Or the pregnant teenage bagger at the market whose boyfriend decided he wasn’t ready to be a dad? Or, and I hate to bring attention to my own situation (but hey, it’s my blog, right?), what about my dad who is being shipped out to Afghanistan tonight after the Army refused to grant him his retirement? You don’t think any of those people have it worse? You don’t see them complaining about their so-called miserable lives on Facebook and using the outrageous “FML.” Hell, my dad even joked in his FB status about leaving and proceeded to quote LMFAO (I shit you not).

I know this is a bit of a diatribe but it outrages me that people feel the need to call attention to their obnoxiously mundane issues as if their lives depend on it.

So please, for the sake of everyone around you, stop using FML. It makes you look like an imbecile.

One Response to “Overuse of Internet Phrases”

  1. lazylauramaisey April 9, 2012 at 12:28 pm #

    Hear hear!

Leave a Reply

