Tuesday is my Monday

13 Mar

Morning all. Today is my Monday, which actually isn’t terrible considering it means I have a 4-day week. I did excel training yesterday (paid for by my job!) so I got to wear jeans and skip coming into the office. I do like my job, but I’m still a kid at heart and will always love a day off! Plus the place where the training is held always has free coffee šŸ™‚

Know what else is great about this week? It’s the week before I go on a work trip. I get to go to beautiful Santa Cruz to do some fiscal monitoring. Sounds riveting, right? I’m looking forward to the boardwalk-walking and the bookstore-browsing and the getting-to-know-Todd’s-best-friend’s-wife…ing. Er…
Mostly I just love to travel, even if it is only a couple hours away and it is for work. I’ve only been to Santa Cruz once and we stayed for a few short hours while I shivered on the beach wrapped in towels while my friends (who were NUTS) went wake-boarding in the frigid water.

I’m also looking forward to it for the amenities at the hotel. I’m sure that makes me sound like a huge dweeb but who doesn’t love free HOT breakfast, heated pool/jacuzzi and their own queen sized bed for a week? I love sleeping next to Todd, but I will tell you that I also love sleeping with my arms and legs spread out so wide that my 5’3″ frame takes up as much of the bed as possible.

In other news, Todd and I started our wedding-to-wedding beer ban. We had our fill of Great White on Saturday night (it was a hosted bar! had to take advantage) and last night we kept to our promise and each had one beer out of the fridge. Although it was a finely crafted 750mL bottled beer of which I can no longer remember the name. Kippel? Hemmel? Something Belgian sounding, I’m sure. We enjoyed it with brown rice and some DELICIOUS chicken that was coverd in garlic, butter, parsely, more butter, some butter and soy sauce. Probably the best chicken I’ve made in a long time. Not to toot my own horn but… toot toot. I made sure to use light butter in the sauce and I think next time I’ll use low sodium soy sauce to cut down on the salt intake and make it more healthy. I’m impressed with myself because most nights I manage to whip up a delicious dinner that doesn’t consist of boxed ingredients or frozen food. Now that I’m eating healthier and soon joining a gym, I should start dropping pounds! Spring is shaping up (pun intended)!

Leave a Reply

