College Times

19 May

Updating post as of June 15, 2012
This one’s about school.

So I don’t think I have the most interesting life, and I also don’t think I post here enough for people to actually read my musings, so I think I’ll write about college.

I’m one of those people that actually enjoys school. I might have complained about the course load or a teacher occasionally, but overall, I thoroughly enjoyed college. I made my way through a few different social groups, but I knew probably 1/3 (maybe even 1/2) of the people on campus, including faculty and staff. I could attribute part of that to being an RA, another thing I loved.

One thing in particular I want to talk about is the very last college class that I took. To make a long story short, I got screwed over by an old advisor and ended up with 6 credits left in my last semester of college. Three of them I finished before graduation and the last three I finished in summer.

Let me just say, thank goodness for Calyn’s family. My parents’ house is about 45 minutes from where I went to school. Calyn’s house was only 20, so I stayed there usually Monday through Thursday for 5 weeks last summer.

This class was probably one of my favorite classes. The teacher, who I’ll just call J, is a very laid back guy. I was actually good friends with his son before I even took any of his classes. This was the second class I had with him but by far the better one.

It was a really small class, I think only 12 of us, and I knew almost everyone in the class. A friend and I would get coffee before each meeting from my favorite coffee place EVER. The class met Tuesdays and Thursdays for 3 hours. That seems like a long time, but J liked to talk and get off-topic a lot. Our first meeting he said, “I don’t believe in tests in the summer. I do, however, believe in popsicles.” No popsicles ever happened, but neither did tests.

There were only 10 meetings and J was actually in China for 3 of them so my friend Steph was the TA and took over. (Steph! That was you, wasn’t it?) 

Oh, the class was a human communications class, by the way. It was a really good time, even the learning part. We did a role-playing exercise where I got to be the daughter of wealthy parentage and the hot football player in the class played my dad. A little strange, but fun.

I also won a pink sparkly pencil for never missing a class meeting. If that’s not a mark of a great teacher I don’t know what is. (I still have that pencil.)

I guess thinking about how much I loved college is getting me excited for grad school. I know it’s a lot more work and the work is way more concentrated, but I’m happy to do it if it improves my mind and life.

And now back to reading about other’s lives!

2 Responses to “College Times”

  1. Stephanie June 15, 2012 at 10:52 am #

    It sure was me!!! haha

    • paigetopus June 15, 2012 at 10:53 am #

      oh good! I couldn’t think of who else it could have been and I was like “it HAD to be her!” hooray!

Leave a Reply

