The Cast and Crew

14 May

Updating post as of June 15, 2012
Another backdated post! In which I talk about some of my friends and my family.

So as not to rile anybody up, I’m going to list my friends and tell you about them in alphabetically order. Away we go!

Calyn: She is one of the most kind-hearted, endearing, loving people I have ever met. We became friends when she was going through a break-up and I was her RA. We sat and talked in the lounge for hours and quickly became close friends. It’s been almost a year since that fateful night.
 She likes to fall asleep when drinking and I like to talk to her and sit on her and pretend she’s not actually asleep. (this is pretty much all the same now)

Jess: We became friends through the random happenstance that we both had the same slippers and a mutual friend. We later realized we had very similar shoe taste. She’s intelligent and beautiful and one of the most talented photographers I know. She is one of those friends that I can go a couple weeks without talking to and we’ll pick up right back where we left off. I couldn’t even think of my life without her. As long as she doesn’t try to shake my babies (whenever I might have those).

Nicole: She is one of my longest-standing friends. We became friends through her roommate my freshman year of college. She’s a great friend and always has fun stories to tell and neat places to go and is super awesomely creative. She also has an awe-inspiring collection of shoes. (and I’m sure she still does.)

Ross: Ross and I were acquaintances for awhile before we actually met. He had an apartment off campus that I ended up partying at and over time we got pretty close. Ross is goofy and weird and an awesome friend. Even though he’s lived across the country for awhile now, we’re still damn good friends and talk on a regular basis. (unfortunately this is no longer true 😦 Ross is still awesome but it’s been a long time since we’ve hung out)

Now for the family! They’re the really crazy ones.

My mom: I will also refer to her Mama, Momster, or Pam (you know, her name). She looks just like me but 25 years older. People have actually confused us in the past, and I often am called Pam by people who know us. She’s kind of crazy, but I guess that’s what happens when you start to get old.

My dad: My dad is one of the most incredible people I know. He was in the Air Force active duty for years, then transferred over to the Army Reserves, and is now special forces (you know, crazy secret stuff). He’s also a paramedic, one of the ones that can give people drugs and stick needles into them. His full-time job though is being a firefighter. He’s actually a fourth generation Lawrence firefighter. Our name is amongst the big-dogs in our area. Most people know either my dad, one of his brothers, his sister, or another one of our relatives.
In any case, my dad has one of the funniest senses of humor I’ve ever come across. His sense of humor is based around his want to laugh at others. He’s pretty hilarious. I shall call him Dad or Daddio or Big Daddy.

Emily: This gem is my sister. She’s 14, in 8th grade (now 17 and just finished her junior year of high school. YIKES!), and she’s got a pretty crummy attitude sometimes. Over the years we’ve gotten closer; we didn’t really get along growing up considering we’re 8 years apart. It’s getting easier though. (I really love my sister, I swear! she’s just a pain in the ass, as most teenagers are ;))

The R Family: These are my (parents’) neighbors: Karin, Derik and their children, K1, K2, and K3. They’re just as close as family in that way that no one knocks, everyone just walks in, and there are always baked goods or huge plates of chicken catchatori (is that even spelled remotely correct?) (no, no it’s not) or beers going back and forth. These three boys are the cutest little toe-heads anyone’s ever created. I’m sure I’ll have plenty of stories about them.

These are just the major players, I’m sure I’ll talk more about others and explain as I go. (Of course I have many new friends living on the opposite side of the country, but these people are all still very important, three years later!)

3 Responses to “The Cast and Crew”

  1. Calyn June 16, 2012 at 7:03 am #

    Almost a year since we became friends? haha try 4!! 😀 I Love you, soulmate.

  2. Calyn June 16, 2012 at 7:06 am #

    Ah. I just NOW realized this post was from 2009. Yes, you would have been correct. Why didn’t I know you had a blog back then!? Crazypants.

    • paigetopus June 16, 2012 at 11:19 am #

      I don’t think I told anyone about it? Haha

Leave a Reply

