A Fixed Neklace

2 Apr

Hello, friends! Good news… the DIY fairy sent me all kinds of motivation this weekend. I not only did both of the projects I told you about, but a third one, too! Unfortunately, the spool is not quite finished yet, and the photo transfers that I did on the wood blocks are not hung.

But I know you all were waiting with bated breath for a post all about my weekend DIY adventures, so I’m going to share my other DIY ish with you! It’s a small one, but it still makes me happy.

There are three things you should know about me: 1. I like necklaces. I might not wear them very often, but I have a lot. 2. Edgar Allan Poe is my favorite poet. And 3. I like things in multiples of three. So now you know I’m weird.

But back to the necklaces. For my most recent birthday (yes, 7 months ago), a friend of mine, Kat, was super stealthy and deduced what my favorite Poe-m (ha, get it?) is. She then had a friend of hers make me a necklace of a miniature book with “The Raven” inscribed on the inside. The pendant, of sorts, also had a little tiny black bird dangling from beneath.

When she gave it to me she apologized and said she thought the chain was going to be longer, and for some reason, I waited until more than 6 months later to do something about it.

So, here’s what I started with:

the "ingredients"

the “ingredients”

- the original necklace
– a longer chain
– some pliers (not pictured)
– super glue (also not pictured, because I’m on top of things)

And here’s what I did:

 

handy dandy pliers

handy dandy pliers

 

It was a pretty simple process. I took the new chain and put it around my neck to figure out how long I wanted it to be. Then, I used the pliers to remove the book from the old chain, as well as the clasp. And then I put it all back together on the new chain! Also, not pictured, I had to glue the pages back into the book. They had somehow come unstuck so I … restuck them together, if you will.

And, voila! The finished (fixed) product:

a fixed necklace

a fixed necklace

Isn’t it pretty? I’m wearing it today with an adorable sleeveless shirt with lacy collars.

Sometime in the coming days, I’m going to hang up my new picture blocks, and Todd is going to add casters to my spool, and I’m going to bring it inside and add some books and funky knick-knacks to it. I can’t wait to show you all!

9 Responses to “A Fixed Neklace”

  1. Debra Strunk April 2, 2013 at 11:03 am #

    Great necklace, and great fix! I’ll bet that the necklace is a Heather Rose original!

    • paigetopus April 2, 2013 at 11:04 am #

      well whoever made it did a great job! I’m probably going to take the shorter chain that I removed and make a bracelet out of it :)

  2. JessicaLeeeee April 2, 2013 at 11:27 am #

    boobies.

    • paigetopus April 2, 2013 at 11:27 am #

      you are quite astute ;)

    • paigetopus April 2, 2013 at 11:28 am #

      also, mature. <3

      • JessicaLeeeee April 2, 2013 at 11:29 am #

        haha, I couldn’t resist. They needed a callout. I’m impressed with your motivation!!

      • paigetopus April 2, 2013 at 11:30 am #

        I am too! I have no idea where it came from.

  3. Stephanie @ Sandpaper & Glue April 2, 2013 at 11:33 am #

    great job! It takes me months to do the tiniest, quickest projects. Glad I’m not alone on that one :)

    • paigetopus April 2, 2013 at 11:35 am #

      oh, good! I’m glad I’m not alone too. we should start a club… maybe in a few months. ;)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

